Pulling Teeth

To start off, I would like to say that I have outline almost half of my plot for Phantom Blade. ‘Almost half’ is not the entire thing but at least I have something. With this, I don’t have hand write anything from now on. Sure, the time it takes me to type 18k words per day would be faster but I can manage. There’s pros and cons to this choice but at least I have a choice.

Believe it or not, today has not been my day for writing. I was just not feeling it today. It had been clear from the very beginning that I was not going to enjoy writing every word or scene of Phantom Blade. It has nothing to do with being tired or the fact that there are some scenes in my story that area bit slow. Today’s scene was one of those times that I did not want to write regardless of any reason. Every word was like pulling teeth and I wanted something or someone to distract me so I didn’t have to write anymore.

There was nothing particularly hateful about this scene. Avon (my Lead) and another character were at an auction and the people they were looking for turn out to be part of the auction. No it’s nothing to do with trafficking. The people (two individuals) were the ones who brought the items in and out. There was a chase and two dead ends. Literally because these individuals died and  Avon and her partner didn’t killed them. This entire scene was a set back that I had set up in the beginning and I think it turned out nicely. I just didn’t want to write it.

During all of this, I felt like it got easier and easier to stop writing. Perhaps it was pride or stubbornness. Whatever the case may be, I am grateful towards it because I managed to finish writing the rest of chapter thirteen. I just really hope something like this doesn’t happen tomorrow because I really want to finish.

I will finish.

I will.

Today’s word count: 1,814

P.S. I don’t like the fact that I keep having this feeling. I want it to stop but I don’t know how. Should I take a break while I’m writing? Maybe do a five minutes workout I found on Pinterest?

One thought on “Pulling Teeth

Leave a Reply

