You win some, You lose some

Happy Wednesday!

As you can see, I’m in a good mood and I was productive today. Well, not as much as I was yesterday but today wasn’t so bad. I managed to plan out at least two more scenes for Phantom Blade. It’s not the most detailed outline but at least I know what’s happening for the next 2 to 4 thousand words.

I read somewhere that not all characters should get along and, let me tell you, that is an iron rule I have been following. It wasn’t intentional. I just created Avon that way. I say created because in part that is true but also because of her backstory (which will come to light later). That experience transformed her into the character she is now – in the story. She is as complex as she gets. Sure, I can change a few things here and there but, for the most part, she’s alright.

Today, more than ever, I realize one huge mistake that I made. I did not and have not made a timeline of any events. Sure I have the scenes but the information of specific things like where Boss Anderson works at is either on the 20th floor or 10th. I can’t remember. Or what day of the week it is in the book either. Little but important things like that that help with consistency are somewhere in the abyss.

But Kassandra, you might say. Why can’t you CTRL+F and find what you want? Well, that’s the thing. NaNoWriMo, the website, partner with Novlr.org and the chapters aren’t all united. Each chapter is a separate file so to speak and it will take me a long time to find what I want. I’ll just have to go back and do everything once I’m completely done with the story.

Word Count: 1,814

Total Word Count: 41, 515

3 thoughts on “You win some, You lose some

  1. marieryan says:

    Kassandra, hello. Thanks for post.
    I’m on the NaNo trip too, and just a newbie. I didn’t know it was called ‘timeline ‘ but after your post I know that’s what I need too. I have lost the plot and can’t remember who has actually done what and when… thanks for putting a name to my confusion. I need a timeline NOW.
    Regards, Marie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

