Half and Half -Part 1

I decided to try something different today. For the last seventeen days, I have been writing around 1,800 words (sometimes less) all in one sitting. This probably contributes to the reason of why I finish writing well into the evening. Or should I say night? Whatever the case may be, I wanted to try out something new.

Instead of writing all 1,800 words today, I have written six hundred off words right now. In the long run, I think this will be helpful for me because I won’t have to come up with a ridiculous idea that has no part in the story when I have no idea what to write. With the break in the middle, I have time to plan what comes next. Honestly, this all sound like another excuse I’m making.

Sure who is to say that I will write the other half of my word count later. It’s why this method of writing is an experiment. I want to see if I can be more productive if I cut the work in half. It allows me a break instead of getting distracted (like yesterday) by mediums of entertainment. I also think that it’s worth the try and as long as I get the words typed up, it should be fine.

Here’s hoping. What ‘tricks’ have worked for you when you get distracted from writing? Do you find some better than others? Or does it all depend on commitment?

Word Count so far: 608

P.S.  Does anyone have any recommendations for playlists to write? I’m getting tired of all my music.

One thought on “Half and Half -Part 1

Leave a Reply

