Unexpected Changes

I mentioned before that my Lead was changing in regards to her character. This isn’t a necessarily bad thing but the more I write, the more I am convinced that is not the way to go with her character. In today’s word count, I introduced Avon’s (the Lead) demon partner, Samael. He also didn’t appear in the way that I wanted him to. From the beginning, I knew that I wanted him to be not too serious but not too goofy either. On paper, I made him out to be somewhat of a joke.

It’s not like I can’t “force” a change of character. Meaning I could forget how I’ve been writing the characters until now and write them how I meant them to be in the first place. I don’t know how this will work out but it is worth a try. I have also found that the tone of the story has also changed. I don’t think that it is in a good way.

The story started off a bit serious and then we hit a relaxing point and now, well, it’s light hearted. I feel like nothing is coming out the way I wanted it to. Maybe I’m just over thinking it and I’m picking at every flaw. I knew from the beginning that this story wasn’t going to turn out to be perfect from the start and yet here I am, acting the same way I didn’t want to act. I guess that comes with the territory; the dissatisfaction with your own work. I just have to keep reminding myself that nothing is set in stone and I can go back and delete. That’s what I need to keep in mind.

Tomorrow’s plan: the murder . . . er . . . crime scene

Today’s word count: 1,688

One thought on “Unexpected Changes

Leave a Reply

